Must-Read Books - Book Reviews - Author Interviews
 

Best Books of 2019

Lanny by Max Porter

There’s a village an hour from London. It’s no different from many others today: one pub, one...

Recursion by Blake Crouch

What if someone could rewrite your entire life? “My son has been erased.” Those are the last...

The Grand Dark by Richard

From the bestselling author of the Sandman Slim series, a lush, dark, stand-alone fantasy built off the...

Rag and Bone by Joe Clifford

Set in the midst of an unforgiving New England winter, this uncompromising thriller pushes the boundaries of...

Song for the Unraveling of the...

FROM A MODERN MASTER OF THE FORM, A NEW SHORT STORY COLLECTION THAT DEXTEROUSLY WALKS THE TIGHTROPE...

Deception Cove by Owen

Former US Marine Jess Winslow reenters civilian life a new widow, with little more to her name...

This House of Wounds by...

This House of Wounds is the devastating debut short story collection from British Fantasy Award-winning author Georgina...

The Forgotten Girl by Rio

“She possesses a unique and powerful ability. Just like we can erase data from a computer hard...

Like Lions by Brian Panowich

A powerful follow up to multiple award-winning debut Bull Mountain. Brian Panowich burst onto the crime fiction...

Wounds: Six Stories from the...

A gripping collection of six stories of terror—including the novella “The Visible Filth,” the basis for the...

Sefira and Other Betrayals by...

From the award-winning writer of The Fisherman comes a new collection of stories. A pair of disgraced...

Unamerica by Cody Goodfellow

Unamerica by Cody Goodfellow: “Cody Goodfellow knows how to chill your blood. . .” —Stephen King, author...

Page 3 of 512345

RECENT REVIEWSSee All »

Midnight in the Graveyard,...

Midnight. Some call it the witching hour. Others call it the devil’s hour. Here in the graveyard,...

Dry County by Jake Hinkson

A dark vision of American religion and politics, Dry County is a portrait of a man willing...

Ormeshadow by Priya Sharma

Acclaimed author Priya Sharma transports readers back in time with Ormeshadow, a coming-of-age story as dark and...

The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi...

In his boldly imagined first novel, Ta-Nehisi Coates, the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World...

A Cosmology of Monsters by...

A tender and terrifying literary horror novel–the author’s debut–that tells the story of a family (creators of...

Heaven, My Home by Attica Locke

  One of Entertainment Weekly‘s Biggest Books of Fall 2019 Texas Ranger Darren Mathews is on the...

Three-Fifths by John Vercher

A compelling and timely debut novel from an assured new voice: Three-Fifths is about a biracial black...

Elements of Fiction by Walter...

Following his essential writing guide, This Year You Write Your Novel, award-winning author Walter Mosley delivers an...

Cold Storage by David Koepp

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic...

All the Things We Never See by...

Distilled through the occluded lens of weird fiction, Michael Kelly’s third collection of strange tales is a...

Rule of Capture by Christopher...

Better Call Saul meets Nineteen Eighty-Four in this first volume in an explosive legal thriller series set...

The Girl on the Porch by...

“Chizmar’s great gift is that he knows the people on your block—and he knows their darkest secrets....

Page 3 of 5012345»

Forthcoming-Preorder

GP Review Boxes: No reviews added to this widget yet.

Author Interviews

February 2019 Rundown with Bram...

    February 2019 Author Interviews: A Conversation with Grand Master of Noir Lawrence Block On his...

Interview with Greg F. Gifune...

Greg F. Gifune is a best-selling, internationally-published author of several acclaimed novels, novellas and two short story...

Interview: Paul Tremblay On his...

Photo by Allan Amato Paul Tremblay has won the Bram Stoker, British Fantasy, and Massachusetts Book Awards...

Interview with Kimi Cunningham...

Photo by Ann Bickel Kimi Cunningham Grant is the author of two books. Silver Like Dust is a...

Interview with Joe Clifford on...

After spending the 1990s as a homeless heroin addict in San Francisco, Joe Clifford got off the...

A Conversation with Grand...

Lawrence Block has been writing crime, mystery, and suspense fiction for more than half a century.  He...

Interview with John F.D. Taff...

John F.D. Taff is a Bram Stoker Award®-Nominated author with more than 30 years experience, 90+ short...

Interview with Taylor Adams On...

Photo by KING 5 Taylor Adams directed the acclaimed short film And I Feel Fine in 2008...

Interview with Steph Post on...

Steph Post is the author of the novels Miraculum, Walk in the Fire, Lightwood, and A Tree Born...

A January 2019 Rundown

    Greetings all. I am back, in writing, on the page, after my previous piece of...

Interview with Craig Russell On...

(Photo Credit: Jonathan Russell) Craig Russell is an award-winning, best-selling and critically-acclaimed author, published in twenty-five languages...

Interview with Christopher...

Photo Credit: Crawford Morgan Christopher Brown is the author of Tropic of Kansas, a finalist for the 2018...

Page 3 of 612345»

Best Fiction 2018

Where the Crawdads Sing by...

  Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens How long can you protect your heart? For years,...

The Cabin at the End of the...

  The Bram Stoker Award-winning author of A Head Full of Ghosts adds an inventive twist to...

The Grey Bastards (The Lot...

  Call them outcasts, call them savages—they’ve been called worse, by their own mothers—but Jackal is proud...

Interview with Susan Henderson

Susan Henderson is a five-time Pushcart Prize nominee and the recipient of an Academy of American Poets...

Rough Animals by Rae DelBianco

Breaking Bad meets No Country for Old Men… Ever since their father’s untimely death five years before,...

Warlight by Michael Ondaatje

From the internationally acclaimed, best-selling author of The English Patient: a mesmerizing new novel that tells a...

Country Dark by Chris Offutt

Chris Offutt’s long-awaited return to fiction after nearly two decades, Country Dark is a fierce noir-inflected novel...

The Oracle Year by Charles

The Oracle Year by Charles Soule : From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and...

American Histories by John...

  In this singular collection, John Edgar Wideman, the acclaimed author of Writing to Save a Life,...

The Fighter by Michael Farris...

A blistering novel of violence and deliverance set against the mythic backdrop of the Mississippi Delta The...

Rip Crew by Sebastian Rotella

      Streetwise U.S. agent Valentine Pescatore investigates a brutal killing that leads him across borders...

The Flicker of Old Dreams by...

  With the quiet precision of Jane Smiley’s A Thousand Acres and the technical clarity of Mary...

Page 3 of 41234

Rundowns

Tales Old & New with H.P...

  This is my new project. I hope to read these tales for the joy of reading...

Authors and Their Favorite...

Alma Katsu, Carrie Laben, S.P Miskowski, Gwendolyn Kiste, Kaaron Warren, Priya Sharma, and Helen Marshall. I asked...

Best Books of 2019 with...

  The best literary, mystery, thriller, noir, and nonfiction books published in 2019. The many books I...

Horror Authors & Their...

Laird Barron’s Recommended Reads He said this in our interview in 2019: “Three of my abiding favorites...

Must-Read Selection of June...

  This Storm by James Ellroy June 4th | Knopf A massive novel of World War II...

April 2019 Rundown |...

Reviews Of April Like Lions by Brian Panowich In The River by Jeremy Robert Johnson Wounds: Six...

March 2019 Rundown &...

The More2Read March 2019 Reviews & Interviews Thank you to all the publishers and authors for your...

February 2019 Rundown with Bram...

    February 2019 Author Interviews: A Conversation with Grand Master of Noir Lawrence Block On his...

A January 2019 Rundown

    Greetings all. I am back, in writing, on the page, after my previous piece of...

A 2018 review and forward to...

Hello all, this a new one for me in writing this little round up of the year...

Best fiction books of 2018

Memorable Characters, potent voices, great prose, evoking locales and conflict, various complexities, love, death and dreams in...

Best Nonfiction 2018

GP Review Boxes: No reviews added to this widget yet.

Book2Screen

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

The searing, post-apocalyptic novel about a father and son’s fight to survive. A father and his son...

A January 2019 Rundown

    Greetings all. I am back, in writing, on the page, after my previous piece of...

Interview with Craig Russell On...

(Photo Credit: Jonathan Russell) Craig Russell is an award-winning, best-selling and critically-acclaimed author, published in twenty-five languages...

No Exit by Taylor Adams

A brilliant, edgy thriller about four strangers, a blizzard, a kidnapped child, and a determined young woman...

Widow’s Point by Richard...

Longtime residents of Harper’s Cove believe that something is wrong with the Widow’s Point Lighthouse. Some say...

The Elephant of Surprise by Joe...

  Hap and Leonard are an unlikely pair–Hap, a self-proclaimed white trash rebel, and Leonard–a tough-as-nails Black,...

A 2018 review and forward to...

Hello all, this a new one for me in writing this little round up of the year...

Interview with Joe Ide

Joe Ide is of Japanese American descent and grew up in South Central Los Angeles. Joe’s favorite books were...

Interview with George Pelecanos...

George Pelecanos was born in Washington, D.C. He worked as a line cook, dishwasher, bartender, and woman’s...

Best fiction books of 2018

Memorable Characters, potent voices, great prose, evoking locales and conflict, various complexities, love, death and dreams in...

Limetown by Cote Smith , Zack...

  From the creators of the #1 podcast Limetown, an explosive prequel about a teenager who learns...

The White Darkness by David...

By the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Killers of the Flower Moon, a powerful true...

Page 3 of 1112345»

Recent Posts