Must-Read Books - Book Reviews - Author Interviews
 

Best Books of 2019 So Far

Wounds: Six Stories from the...

A gripping collection of six stories of terror—including the novella “The Visible Filth,” the basis for the...

Unamerica by Cody Goodfellow

“Cody Goodfellow knows how to chill your blood. . .” —Stephen King, author of It and The...

The Light Brigade by Kameron...

From the Hugo Award­­–winning author of The Stars Are Legion comes a brand-new science fiction thriller about...

Radicalized by Cory Doctorow

Told through one of the most on-pulse genre voices of our generation–New York Times bestselling author Cory...

Finding Katarina M. by...

From the author of the acclaimed NORTH OF BOSTON comes a riveting new thriller about an American...

The Lady from the Black Lagoon:...

  The Lady from the Black Lagoon uncovers the life and work of Milicent Patrick – one...

Halibut on the Moon by David...

In his riveting new novel, internationally bestselling New York Times Notable author and Prix Medicis étranger-winner David...

The Migration by Helen Marshall

When I was younger I didn’t know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a...

Solitary by Albert Woodfox

  The extraordinary saga of a man who, despite spending four decades in solitary confinement for a...

The Devil Aspect by Craig...

A terrifying novel set in Czechoslovakia in 1935, in which a brilliant young psychiatrist takes his new...

Fallen Mountains by Kimi...

When Transom Shultz goes missing shortly after returning to his tightly knit hometown of Fallen Mountains, Pennsylvania,...

A Friend Is a Gift You Give...

Goodfellas meets Thelma and Louise when an unlikely trio of women in New York find themselves banding...

Page 3 of 41234

RECENT REVIEWSSee All »

Elements of Fiction by Walter...

Following his essential writing guide, This Year You Write Your Novel, award-winning author Walter Mosley delivers an...

Cold Storage by David Koepp

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic...

All the Things We Never See by...

Distilled through the occluded lens of weird fiction, Michael Kelly’s third collection of strange tales is a...

Rule of Capture by Christopher...

Better Call Saul meets Nineteen Eighty-Four in this first volume in an explosive legal thriller series set...

The Girl on the Porch by...

“Chizmar’s great gift is that he knows the people on your block—and he knows their darkest secrets....

The Book of X by Sarah Rose...

A surreal exploration of one woman’s life and death against a landscape of meat, office desks, and...

This Side of Night by J. Todd...

The vicious Mexican cartel war boils over into the Big Bend in the explosive new novel from...

The Nickel Boys by Colson...

In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller...

A Hawk in the Woods by Carrie...

When newscaster Abby Waite is diagnosed with a potentially terminal illness, she decides to do the logical...

In the House in the Dark of the...

The eerie, disturbing story of one of our perennial fascinations–witchcraft in colonial America–wrapped up in a lyrical...

Pan’s Labyrinth: The...

Oscar winning writer-director Guillermo del Toro and New York Times bestselling author Cornelia Funke come together to...

The Growing Things and Other...

A chilling collection of psychological suspense and literary horror from the multiple award-winning author of the national...

Page 3 of 5012345»

Forthcoming-Preorder

GP Review Boxes: No reviews added to this widget yet.

Author Interviews

Interview with Greg F. Gifune...

Greg F. Gifune is a best-selling, internationally-published author of several acclaimed novels, novellas and two short story...

Interview: Paul Tremblay On his...

Photo by Allan Amato Paul Tremblay has won the Bram Stoker, British Fantasy, and Massachusetts Book Awards...

Interview with Kimi Cunningham...

Photo by Ann Bickel Kimi Cunningham Grant is the author of two books. Silver Like Dust is a...

Interview with Joe Clifford on...

After spending the 1990s as a homeless heroin addict in San Francisco, Joe Clifford got off the...

A Conversation with Grand...

Lawrence Block has been writing crime, mystery, and suspense fiction for more than half a century.  He...

Interview with John F.D. Taff...

John F.D. Taff is a Bram Stoker Award®-Nominated author with more than 30 years experience, 90+ short...

Interview with Taylor Adams On...

Photo by KING 5 Taylor Adams directed the acclaimed short film And I Feel Fine in 2008...

Interview with Steph Post on...

Steph Post is the author of the novels Miraculum, Walk in the Fire, Lightwood, and A Tree Born...

A January 2019 Rundown

    Greetings all. I am back, in writing, on the page, after my previous piece of...

Interview with Craig Russell On...

(Photo Credit: Jonathan Russell) Craig Russell is an award-winning, best-selling and critically-acclaimed author, published in twenty-five languages...

Interview with Christopher...

Photo Credit: Crawford Morgan Christopher Brown is the author of Tropic of Kansas, a finalist for the 2018...

Interview with Laird Barron On...

Photo courtesy Jessica M. Laird Barron, an expat Alaskan, is the author of several books, including The Imago...

Page 3 of 612345»

Best Fiction 2018

Where the Crawdads Sing by...

  Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens How long can you protect your heart? For years,...

The Cabin at the End of the...

  The Bram Stoker Award-winning author of A Head Full of Ghosts adds an inventive twist to...

The Grey Bastards (The Lot...

  Call them outcasts, call them savages—they’ve been called worse, by their own mothers—but Jackal is proud...

Interview with Susan Henderson

Susan Henderson is a five-time Pushcart Prize nominee and the recipient of an Academy of American Poets...

Rough Animals by Rae DelBianco

Breaking Bad meets No Country for Old Men… Ever since their father’s untimely death five years before,...

Warlight by Michael Ondaatje

From the internationally acclaimed, best-selling author of The English Patient: a mesmerizing new novel that tells a...

Country Dark by Chris Offutt

Chris Offutt’s long-awaited return to fiction after nearly two decades, Country Dark is a fierce noir-inflected novel...

The Oracle Year by Charles

The Oracle Year by Charles Soule : From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and...

American Histories by John...

  In this singular collection, John Edgar Wideman, the acclaimed author of Writing to Save a Life,...

The Fighter by Michael Farris...

A blistering novel of violence and deliverance set against the mythic backdrop of the Mississippi Delta The...

Rip Crew by Sebastian Rotella

      Streetwise U.S. agent Valentine Pescatore investigates a brutal killing that leads him across borders...

The Flicker of Old Dreams by...

  With the quiet precision of Jane Smiley’s A Thousand Acres and the technical clarity of Mary...

Page 3 of 41234

Rundowns

Tales Old & New with H.P...

This is my new project. I hope to read these tales for the joy of reading and...

Horror Authors & Their...

Laird Barron’s Recommended Reads He said this in our interview in 2019: “Three of my abiding favorites...

Must-Read Selection of June...

  This Storm by James Ellroy June 4th | Knopf A massive novel of World War II...

April Rundown | Interviews|...

Reviews Of April Like Lions by Brian Panowich In The River by Jeremy Robert Johnson Wounds: Six...

March Rundown &...

The More2Read March 2019 Reviews & Interviews Thank you to all the publishers and authors for your...

February 2019 Rundown with Bram...

    February 2019 Author Interviews: A Conversation with Grand Master of Noir Lawrence Block On his...

Best Nonfiction 2018

GP Review Boxes: No reviews added to this widget yet.

Book2Screen

A 2018 review and forward to...

Hello all, this a new one for me in writing this little round up of the year...

Interview with Joe Ide

Joe Ide is of Japanese American descent and grew up in South Central Los Angeles. Joe’s favorite books were...

Interview with George Pelecanos...

George Pelecanos was born in Washington, D.C. He worked as a line cook, dishwasher, bartender, and woman’s...

Best fiction books of 2018

Memorable Characters, potent voices, great prose, evoking locales and conflict, various complexities, love, death and dreams in...

The White Darkness by David...

By the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Killers of the Flower Moon, a powerful true...

November Road by Lou Berney

    Set against the assassination of JFK, a poignant and evocative crime novel that centers on...

Foe by Iain Reid

  A taut, psychological mind-bender from the bestselling author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things. We don’t...

Flight or Fright edited by...

Fasten your seatbelts for an anthology of turbulent tales curated by Stephen King and Bev Vincent. This...

The Banker’s Wife by...

  On an early morning in November, a couple boards a private plane bound for Geneva, flying...

Where the Crawdads Sing by...

  Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens How long can you protect your heart? For years,...

The Cabin at the End of the...

  The Bram Stoker Award-winning author of A Head Full of Ghosts adds an inventive twist to...

The Oracle Year by Charles

The Oracle Year by Charles Soule : From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and...

Page 3 of 1112345»

Recent Posts