Must-Read Books - Book Reviews - Author Interviews
 

Forthcoming-Preorder

Forthcoming August 2019 for...

“Chizmar’s great gift is that he knows the people on your block—and he knows their darkest secrets....

February 2019 Rundown with Bram...

    February 2019 Author Interviews: A Conversation with Grand Master of Noir Lawrence Block On his...

A Killing Secret Book Cover...

Guest Post by Robert E. Dunn A KILLING SECRET Cover Reveal Cover art is important to a...

Forthcoming March 26th: The Old...

An electrifying debut from the winner of the 2015 Caine Prize for African writing, The Old Drift...

Forthcoming April 2nd 2019 For...

On March 29, 1975, sisters Katherine and Sheila Lyons, ages ten and twelve, vanished from a shopping...

Forthcoming May 6th 2019 For...

In Darkness, Delight: Masters of Midnight Midnight strikes like an invocation, clock hands joining in prayer to...

Forthcoming September 3rd 2019...

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic...

Forthcoming October 22nd 2019...

  Harry Bosch and LAPD Detective Renee Ballard come together again on the murder case that obsessed...

Forthcoming June 18th 2019 For...

A new thriller from a writer who’s been compared to Michael Crichton, Alfred Hitchcock, Raymond Chandler, Blake...

The Growing Things and Other...

A chilling collection of psychological suspense and literary horror from the multiple award-winning author of the national...

Forthcoming 30th April For...

A powerful follow up to multiple award-winning debut Bull Mountain. Brian Panowich burst onto the crime fiction...

Forthcoming May 7th 2019 For...

New York Times bestselling and Alex, Nebula, and Hugo-Award-winning author Seanan McGuire introduces readers to a world...

A Lush and Seething Hell by...

The award-winning and critically-acclaimed master of horror returns with a pair of chilling tales—both never-before-published in print—that...

Forthcoming March 26th 2019 For...

The stunning debut novel from one of the most creative artists of our generation, Bobby Hall, a.k.a....

Forthcoming June 30th 2019 For...

Before I Wake is David Morrell’s third short-story collection and his first since the 2004 publication of Nightscape. It’s...

A January 2019 Rundown

    Greetings all. I am back, in writing, on the page, after my previous piece of...

Page 1 of 3123

Best Fiction 2018

Interview with Laird Barron On...

Photo courtesy Jessica M. Laird Barron, an expat Alaskan, is the author of several books, including The Imago...

Interview with Paul Howarth On...

Photo credit: Sarah Howarth Paul Howarth was born and grew up in Great Britain before moving to Melbourne...

Interview with George Pelecanos...

George Pelecanos was born in Washington, D.C. He worked as a line cook, dishwasher, bartender, and woman’s...

Interview with Alma Katsu on...

Photo Credit: Tim Coburn Alma Katsu is the author of The Hunger, a reimagining of the story...

Best fiction books of 2018

Memorable Characters, potent voices, great prose, evoking locales and conflict, various complexities, love, death and dreams in...

Coyote Songs by Gabino Iglesias

      In Gabino Iglesias’ second novel, ghosts and old gods guide the hands of those...

Hazards of Time Travel by Joyce...

An ingenious, dystopian novel of one young woman’s resistance against the constraints of an oppressive society, from...

Blood Standard by Laird Barron

Award-winning author Laird Barron makes his crime fiction debut with a novel set in the underbelly of...

Driving to Geronimo’s Grave...

  From the Dusty Great Depression to the far future, to the wild west, to the era...

Elevation by Stephen King

Set in the fictional town of Castle Rock, Maine The latest from legendary master storyteller Stephen King,...

The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky by...

  They had escaped their country, but they couldn’t escape the past Having lost both her home...

The Reckoning by John Grisham

October 1946, Clanton, Mississippi Pete Banning was Clanton, Mississippi’s favorite son—a decorated World War II hero, the...

Page 1 of 41234

RECENT REVIEWSSee All »

Bloody Sheets by Andy Rausch

When a young black man is lynched in a small Alabama town, his estranged father — a...

The Light Brigade by Kameron...

From the Hugo Award­­–winning author of The Stars Are Legion comes a brand-new science fiction thriller about...

Radicalized by Cory Doctorow

Told through one of the most on-pulse genre voices of our generation–New York Times bestselling author Cory...

Forthcoming August 2019 for...

“Chizmar’s great gift is that he knows the people on your block—and he knows their darkest secrets....

Finding Katarina M. by...

From the author of the acclaimed NORTH OF BOSTON comes a riveting new thriller about an American...

The Lady from the Black Lagoon:...

The Lady from the Black Lagoon uncovers the life and work of Milicent Patrick – one of...

Halibut on the Moon by David...

In his riveting new novel, internationally bestselling New York Times Notable author and Prix Medicis étranger-winner David...

Will Haunt You by Brian Kirk

You don’t read the book. It reads you. Rumors of a deadly book have been floating around...

February 2019 Rundown with Bram...

    February 2019 Author Interviews: A Conversation with Grand Master of Noir Lawrence Block On his...

The Migration by Helen Marshall

When I was younger I didn’t know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a...

Solitary by Albert Woodfox

  The extraordinary saga of a man who, despite spending four decades in solitary confinement for a...

The Devil Aspect by Craig...

A terrifying novel set in Czechoslovakia in 1935, in which a brilliant young psychiatrist takes his new...

Page 1 of 45123»

Author Interviews

Interview with Jeff Strand on...

Jeff Strand is the four-time Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of 40+ books, including Blister, A Bad Day...

Interview with Helen Marshall...

Helen Marshall is a critically acclaimed author, editor, and medievalist. After receiving a PhD from the prestigious...

February 2019 Rundown with Bram...

    February 2019 Author Interviews: A Conversation with Grand Master of Noir Lawrence Block On his...

Interview with Greg F. Gifune...

Greg F. Gifune is a best-selling, internationally-published author of several acclaimed novels, novellas and two short story...

Paul Tremblay On his Growing...

Photo by Allan Amato Paul Tremblay has won the Bram Stoker, British Fantasy, and Massachusetts Book Awards...

Interview with Kimi Cunningham...

Photo by Ann Bickel Kimi Cunningham Grant is the author of two books. Silver Like Dust is a...

Interview with Joe Clifford on...

After spending the 1990s as a homeless heroin addict in San Francisco, Joe Clifford got off the...

A Conversation with Grand...

Lawrence Block has been writing crime, mystery, and suspense fiction for more than half a century.  He...

Interview with John F.D. Taff...

John F.D. Taff is a Bram Stoker Award®-Nominated author with more than 30 years experience, 90+ short...

Interview with Taylor Adams On...

Photo by KING 5 Taylor Adams directed the acclaimed short film And I Feel Fine in 2008...

Interview with Steph Post on...

Steph Post is the author of the novels Miraculum, Walk in the Fire, Lightwood, and A Tree Born...

A January 2019 Rundown

    Greetings all. I am back, in writing, on the page, after my previous piece of...

Page 1 of 41234

Best Nonfiction 2018

The Sun Does Shine: How I Found...

  The Sun Does Shine: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row (Oprah’s Book Club...

Best Nonfiction Books of 2018

“Susan Orlean has long been one of our finest storytellers, and she proves it again with The Library...

The Line Becomes A River:...

For Francisco Cantú, the border is in the blood: his mother, a park ranger and daughter of...

Heartland: A Memoir of Working...

  Longlisted for the National Book Award for Nonfiction An eye-opening memoir of working-class poverty in the...

Can’t Hurt Me by David...

For David Goggins, childhood was a nightmare — poverty, prejudice, and physical abuse colored his days and...

The Library Book by Susan

On the morning of April 28, 1986, a fire alarm sounded in the Los Angeles Public Library....

Heavy: An American Memoir by...

In this powerful and provocative memoir, genre-bending essayist and novelist Kiese Laymon explores what the weight of...

The Reckonings: Essays by Lacy...

This extraordinary, timely new collection of essays by the award-winning writer of The Other Side—rooted in her...

Impossible Owls: Essays by...

A globe-spanning, ambitious book of essays from one of the most enthralling storytellers in narrative nonfiction In...

The Third Bank of the River:...

A sweeping look at the war over the Amazon-as activists, locals, and indigenous tribes struggle to save...

Goodbye, Sweet Girl : A Story...

    Goodbye, Sweet Girl by Kelly Sundberg: In this brave and beautiful memoir, written with the...

The Stuff: Unlock Your Power to...

  Everyone has difficult moments in life. But everyone also has the Stuff to overcome hardships, to...

Book2Screen

Paul Tremblay On his Growing...

Photo by Allan Amato Paul Tremblay has won the Bram Stoker, British Fantasy, and Massachusetts Book Awards...

The Devil Aspect by Craig...

A terrifying novel set in Czechoslovakia in 1935, in which a brilliant young psychiatrist takes his new...

A Conversation with Grand...

Lawrence Block has been writing crime, mystery, and suspense fiction for more than half a century.  He...

As I Lay Dying by William...

As I Lay Dying is Faulkner’s harrowing account of the Bundren family’s odyssey across the Mississippi countryside...

Blindness by José Saramago

From Nobel Prize–winning author José Saramago, a magnificent, mesmerizing parable of loss A city is hit by...

Forthcoming September 3rd 2019...

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic...

Interview with Taylor Adams On...

Photo by KING 5 Taylor Adams directed the acclaimed short film And I Feel Fine in 2008...

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

The searing, post-apocalyptic novel about a father and son’s fight to survive. A father and his son...

A January 2019 Rundown

    Greetings all. I am back, in writing, on the page, after my previous piece of...

Interview with Craig Russell On...

(Photo Credit: Jonathan Russell) Craig Russell is an award-winning, best-selling and critically-acclaimed author, published in twenty-five languages...

No Exit by Taylor Adams

A brilliant, edgy thriller about four strangers, a blizzard, a kidnapped child, and a determined young woman...

Widow’s Point by Richard...

Longtime residents of Harper’s Cove believe that something is wrong with the Widow’s Point Lighthouse. Some say...

Page 1 of 10123»

Recent Posts