Must-Read Books - Book Reviews - Author Interviews
 

Forthcoming-Preorder

A Cosmology of Monsters by...

A tender and terrifying literary horror novel–the author’s debut–that tells the story of a family (creators of...

Heaven, My Home by Attica Locke

  One of Entertainment Weekly‘s Biggest Books of Fall 2019 Texas Ranger Darren Mathews is on the...

The Hidden World of the Fox by...

One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2019 Ecologist Adele Brand has devoted her life...

City of Margins by William

    A vivid new cast of characters collide in gritty 1990s Brooklyn, in this latest from...

The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi...

In his boldly imagined first novel, Ta-Nehisi Coates, the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World...

The True Bastards by Jonathan...

  Half orc. All badass. A female chieftain in a brutal wasteland society fights to take what...

Olive, Again by Elizabeth

#1 New York Times bestselling author and Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout continues the life of her...

Dry County by Jake Hinkson

A dark vision of American religion and politics, Dry County is a portrait of a man willing...

Dead Astronauts by Jeff...

  A messianic blue fox who slips through warrens of time and space on a mysterious mission....

The Boatman’s Daughter by...

Ever since her father was killed when she was just a child, Miranda Crabtree has kept her...

The Only Good Indians by...

Peter Straub’s Ghost Story meets Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies in this American Indian horror story of...

Served Cold by Alan Baxter

  Collected together for the first time ever, these sixteen provocative and intensely chilling tales by multi-award-winning-author...

The Red Lotus by Chris

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Midwives and The Flight Attendant comes a twisting...

Lakewood by Megan Giddings

A startling debut about class and race, Lakewood evokes a terrifying world of medical experimentation—part The Handmaid’s...

Marley by Jon Clinch

    From the acclaimed author of the “marvel of a novel” (Entertainment Weekly) Finn comes a...

Forthcoming October 15th For...

Acclaimed author Priya Sharma transports readers back in time with Ormeshadow, a coming-of-age story as dark and...

Page 1 of 212

Best Fiction 2018

Interview with Laird Barron On...

Photo courtesy Jessica M. Laird Barron, an expat Alaskan, is the author of several books, including The Imago...

Interview with Paul Howarth On...

Photo credit: Sarah Howarth Paul Howarth was born and grew up in Great Britain before moving to Melbourne...

Interview with George Pelecanos...

George Pelecanos was born in Washington, D.C. He worked as a line cook, dishwasher, bartender, and woman’s...

Interview with Alma Katsu on...

Photo Credit: Tim Coburn Alma Katsu is the author of The Hunger, a reimagining of the story...

Best fiction books of 2018

Memorable Characters, potent voices, great prose, evoking locales and conflict, various complexities, love, death and dreams in...

Coyote Songs by Gabino Iglesias

      In Gabino Iglesias’ second novel, ghosts and old gods guide the hands of those...

Hazards of Time Travel by Joyce...

An ingenious, dystopian novel of one young woman’s resistance against the constraints of an oppressive society, from...

Blood Standard by Laird Barron

Award-winning author Laird Barron makes his crime fiction debut with a novel set in the underbelly of...

Driving to Geronimo’s Grave...

  From the Dusty Great Depression to the far future, to the wild west, to the era...

Elevation by Stephen King

Set in the fictional town of Castle Rock, Maine The latest from legendary master storyteller Stephen King,...

The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky by...

  They had escaped their country, but they couldn’t escape the past Having lost both her home...

The Reckoning by John Grisham

October 1946, Clanton, Mississippi Pete Banning was Clanton, Mississippi’s favorite son—a decorated World War II hero, the...

Page 1 of 41234

RECENT REVIEWSSee All »

A Cosmology of Monsters by...

A tender and terrifying literary horror novel–the author’s debut–that tells the story of a family (creators of...

Heaven, My Home by Attica Locke

  One of Entertainment Weekly‘s Biggest Books of Fall 2019 Texas Ranger Darren Mathews is on the...

Three-Fifths by John Vercher

A compelling and timely debut novel from an assured new voice: Three-Fifths is about a biracial black...

Elements of Fiction by Walter...

Following his essential writing guide, This Year You Write Your Novel, award-winning author Walter Mosley delivers an...

Cold Storage by David Koepp

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic...

All the Things We Never See by...

Distilled through the occluded lens of weird fiction, Michael Kelly’s third collection of strange tales is a...

Rule of Capture by Christopher...

Better Call Saul meets Nineteen Eighty-Four in this first volume in an explosive legal thriller series set...

The Girl on the Porch by...

“Chizmar’s great gift is that he knows the people on your block—and he knows their darkest secrets....

The Book of X by Sarah Rose...

A surreal exploration of one woman’s life and death against a landscape of meat, office desks, and...

This Side of Night by J. Todd...

The vicious Mexican cartel war boils over into the Big Bend in the explosive new novel from...

The Nickel Boys by Colson...

In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller...

A Hawk in the Woods by Carrie...

When newscaster Abby Waite is diagnosed with a potentially terminal illness, she decides to do the logical...

Page 1 of 48123»

Author Interviews

Author Interview: Dan Chaon On...

Dan Chaon’s most recent book is Ill Will, a national bestseller, named one of the ten best...

Interview with Riley Sager On...

Riley Sager is the pseudonym of a former journalist, editor and graphic designer. Now a full-time writer,...

Brian Evenson On his new story...

BRIAN EVENSON is the author of a dozen books of fiction, most recently the story collection Song...

F. Paul Wilson on writing, his...

F. Paul Wilson is the New York Times bestselling author of horror, adventure, medical thrillers, science fiction,...

J. Todd Scott On his novel This...

J. Todd Scott was born in rural Kentucky and attended college and law school in Virginia, where...

Richard Chizmar On his Girl on...

RICHARD CHIZMAR is a New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Amazon, and Publishers...

Interview with author of...

Tim Major is a writer and editor from York, UK. His love of speculative fiction is the...

William Kent Krueger On...

Raised in the Cascade Mountains of Oregon, William Kent Krueger briefly attended Stanford University—before being kicked out...

Tim Lebbon On The Silence,...

Tim Lebbon is the New York Times bestselling author of Coldbrook, The Silence and The Relics series...

Rob Hart On his novel The...

Rob Hart is the author of the Ash McKenna series, published by Polis Books, which wrapped up...

Interview with Christopher...

  CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN is the award-winning, bestselling author of such novels as The Myth Hunters, The Boys...

John Langan On Sefira and Other...

John Langan is the author of two novels, The Fisherman(Word Horde 2016) and House of Windows (Night...

Page 1 of 6123»

Rundowns

Must-Read Selection of June...

  This Storm by James Ellroy June 4th | Knopf A massive novel of World War II...

April Rundown | Interviews|...

Reviews Of April Like Lions by Brian Panowich In The River by Jeremy Robert Johnson Wounds: Six...

March Rundown &...

The More2Read March 2019 Reviews & Interviews Thank you to all the publishers and authors for your...

February 2019 Rundown with Bram...

    February 2019 Author Interviews: A Conversation with Grand Master of Noir Lawrence Block On his...

A January 2019 Rundown

    Greetings all. I am back, in writing, on the page, after my previous piece of...

A 2018 review and forward to...

Hello all, this a new one for me in writing this little round up of the year...

Best Nonfiction 2018

Can’t Hurt Me by David...

For David Goggins, childhood was a nightmare — poverty, prejudice, and physical abuse colored his days and...

The Sun Does Shine: How I Found...

  The Sun Does Shine: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row (Oprah’s Book Club...

Best Nonfiction Books of 2018

“Susan Orlean has long been one of our finest storytellers, and she proves it again with The Library...

The Line Becomes A River:...

For Francisco Cantú, the border is in the blood: his mother, a park ranger and daughter of...

Heartland: A Memoir of Working...

  Longlisted for the National Book Award for Nonfiction An eye-opening memoir of working-class poverty in the...

The Library Book by Susan

On the morning of April 28, 1986, a fire alarm sounded in the Los Angeles Public Library....

Heavy: An American Memoir by...

In this powerful and provocative memoir, genre-bending essayist and novelist Kiese Laymon explores what the weight of...

The Reckonings: Essays by Lacy...

This extraordinary, timely new collection of essays by the award-winning writer of The Other Side—rooted in her...

Impossible Owls: Essays by...

A globe-spanning, ambitious book of essays from one of the most enthralling storytellers in narrative nonfiction In...

The Third Bank of the River:...

A sweeping look at the war over the Amazon-as activists, locals, and indigenous tribes struggle to save...

Goodbye, Sweet Girl : A Story...

    Goodbye, Sweet Girl by Kelly Sundberg: In this brave and beautiful memoir, written with the...

The Stuff: Unlock Your Power to...

  Everyone has difficult moments in life. But everyone also has the Stuff to overcome hardships, to...

Book2Screen

Cold Storage by David Koepp

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic...

Pan’s Labyrinth: The...

Oscar winning writer-director Guillermo del Toro and New York Times bestselling author Cornelia Funke come together to...

Interview with Riley Sager On...

Riley Sager is the pseudonym of a former journalist, editor and graphic designer. Now a full-time writer,...

Recursion by Blake Crouch

What if someone could rewrite your entire life? “My son has been erased.” Those are the last...

Interview with Christopher...

  CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN is the award-winning, bestselling author of such novels as The Myth Hunters, The Boys...

The Pandora Room by Christopher...

When what appears to be the original Pandora’s Box is discovered in an ancient city, neighboring countries...

Nathan Ballingrud On his Wounds...

Nathan Ballingrud was born in Massachusetts in 1970, but spent most of his life in the South....

March Rundown &...

The More2Read March 2019 Reviews & Interviews Thank you to all the publishers and authors for your...

The Silence by Tim Lebbon

Bestselling author Tim Lebbon’s electrifying horror novel – now made into a Netflix original movie starring Stanley...

Wounds: Six Stories from the...

A gripping collection of six stories of terror—including the novella “The Visible Filth,” the basis for the...

Interview: Paul Tremblay On his...

Photo by Allan Amato Paul Tremblay has won the Bram Stoker, British Fantasy, and Massachusetts Book Awards...

The Devil Aspect by Craig...

A terrifying novel set in Czechoslovakia in 1935, in which a brilliant young psychiatrist takes his new...

Page 1 of 10123»

Recent Posts