Must-Read Books - Book Reviews - Author Interviews
 

Author Interviews

Interview with Christopher...

Photo Credit: Crawford Morgan Christopher Brown is the author of Tropic of Kansas, a finalist for the 2018...

Interview with Laird Barron On...

Photo courtesy Jessica M. Laird Barron, an expat Alaskan, is the author of several books, including The Imago...

Interview with Paul Howarth On...

Photo credit: Sarah Howarth Paul Howarth was born and grew up in Great Britain before moving to Melbourne...

Interview with Joe Ide

Joe Ide is of Japanese American descent and grew up in South Central Los Angeles. Joe’s favorite books were...

Interview with Allen Eskens

Allen Eskens is the bestselling author of The Life We Bury, The Guise of Another, The Heavens...

Interview with George Pelecanos...

George Pelecanos was born in Washington, D.C. He worked as a line cook, dishwasher, bartender, and woman’s...

Interview with Alma Katsu on...

Photo Credit: Tim Coburn Alma Katsu is the author of The Hunger, a reimagining of the story...

Interview with Alan Baxter

  Alan Baxter is a multi-award-winning British-Australian author who writes supernatural thrillers and urban horror, rides a...

John Hornor Jacobs On Writing...

John Hornor Jacobs’ first novel, Southern Gods, was published by Night Shade Books and shortlisted for the...

Lou Berney on writing, writers,...

Lou Berney is the author of November Road (coming in October), The Long and Faraway Gone (winner...

Joe Lansdale on writing, film...

Lansdale has written novels and stories in many genres, including Western, horror, science fiction, mystery, and suspense....

Interview with Chris Offutt

Chris Offutt grew up in Haldeman, Kentucky, population 200, a former mining town in the Appalachian hills....

Page 4 of 6«23456»

RECENT REVIEWSSee All »

Elements of Fiction by Walter...

Following his essential writing guide, This Year You Write Your Novel, award-winning author Walter Mosley delivers an...

Cold Storage by David Koepp

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic...

All the Things We Never See by...

Distilled through the occluded lens of weird fiction, Michael Kelly’s third collection of strange tales is a...

Rule of Capture by Christopher...

Better Call Saul meets Nineteen Eighty-Four in this first volume in an explosive legal thriller series set...

The Girl on the Porch by...

“Chizmar’s great gift is that he knows the people on your block—and he knows their darkest secrets....

The Book of X by Sarah Rose...

A surreal exploration of one woman’s life and death against a landscape of meat, office desks, and...

This Side of Night by J. Todd...

The vicious Mexican cartel war boils over into the Big Bend in the explosive new novel from...

The Nickel Boys by Colson...

In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller...

A Hawk in the Woods by Carrie...

When newscaster Abby Waite is diagnosed with a potentially terminal illness, she decides to do the logical...

In the House in the Dark of the...

The eerie, disturbing story of one of our perennial fascinations–witchcraft in colonial America–wrapped up in a lyrical...

Pan’s Labyrinth: The...

Oscar winning writer-director Guillermo del Toro and New York Times bestselling author Cornelia Funke come together to...

The Growing Things and Other...

The Growing Things by Paul Tremblay: A chilling collection of psychological suspense and literary horror from the...

Page 4 of 51«23456»

Best Books of 2019

The Light Brigade by Kameron...

From the Hugo Award­­–winning author of The Stars Are Legion comes a brand-new science fiction thriller about...

Radicalized by Cory Doctorow

Told through one of the most on-pulse genre voices of our generation–New York Times bestselling author Cory...

Finding Katarina M. by...

From the author of the acclaimed NORTH OF BOSTON comes a riveting new thriller about an American...

The Lady from the Black Lagoon:...

  The Lady from the Black Lagoon uncovers the life and work of Milicent Patrick – one...

Halibut on the Moon by David...

In his riveting new novel, internationally bestselling New York Times Notable author and Prix Medicis étranger-winner David...

The Migration by Helen Marshall

When I was younger I didn’t know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a...

Solitary by Albert Woodfox

  The extraordinary saga of a man who, despite spending four decades in solitary confinement for a...

The Devil Aspect by Craig...

A terrifying novel set in Czechoslovakia in 1935, in which a brilliant young psychiatrist takes his new...

Fallen Mountains by Kimi...

When Transom Shultz goes missing shortly after returning to his tightly knit hometown of Fallen Mountains, Pennsylvania,...

A Friend Is a Gift You Give...

Goodfellas meets Thelma and Louise when an unlikely trio of women in New York find themselves banding...

The River by Peter Heller

From the best-selling author of The Dog Stars, the story of two college students on a wilderness...

The Elephant in the Room: One...

The government definition of obesity is a body mass index of 30 or more. My BMI is...

Page 4 of 512345

Forthcoming-Preorder

GP Review Boxes: No reviews added to this widget yet.

Best Fiction 2018

The Hunger by Alma Katsu

  A tense and gripping reimagining of one of America’s most fascinating historical moments: the Donner Party...

The Listener by Robert McCammon

1934. Businesses went under by the hundreds, debt and foreclosures boomed, and breadlines grew in many American...

Green Sun by Kent Anderson

  Green Sun by Kent Anderson: “One of the unsung heroes of crime fiction” (Chicago Tribune), Kent...

Sunburn by Laura Lippman

Named one of the Most Anticipated Books of 2018 by Bustle, Popsugar, Wall Street Journal, Entertainment Weekly,...

Don’t Skip Out on Me by...

  Don’t Skip Out on Me by Willy Vlautin : From award-winning author Willy Vlautin, comes this...

Only Killers and Thieves by...

Only Killers and Thieves by Paul Howarth : Two brothers are exposed to the brutal realities of...

The Wife by Alafair Burke

His Scandal Her Secret From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in...

Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah...

Praise for Anatomy of a Scandal “The courtroom yields high drama, but Vaughan also dives deep into...

Robicheaux (Dave Robicheaux...

Robicheaux (Dave Robicheaux #21) by James Lee Burke : James Lee Burke’s most beloved character, Dave Robicheaux,...

Page 4 of 41234

Rundowns

Tales Old & New with H.P...

Tales of Old & New This is my new project. I hope to read these tales for...

2019 Bram Stoker Awards

    From Organizers and creators of The Bram Stoker Awards @ http://www.thebramstokerawards.com: Los Angeles, April 18,...

2019 Shirley Jackson Awards...

  The Nominees for the 2019 Shirley Jackson Awards:  https://www.shirleyjacksonawards.org     Best Novel: The Book of...

Authors and Their Favorite...

Alma Katsu, Carrie Laben, S.P Miskowski, Gwendolyn Kiste, Kaaron Warren, Priya Sharma, and Helen Marshall. I asked...

Best Books of 2019 with...

  The best literary, mystery, thriller, noir, and nonfiction books published in 2019. The many books I...

Horror Authors & Their...

Laird Barron’s Recommended Reads He said this in our interview in 2019: “Three of my abiding favorites...

Must-Read Selection of June...

  This Storm by James Ellroy June 4th | Knopf A massive novel of World War II...

April 2019 Rundown |...

Reviews Of April Like Lions by Brian Panowich In The River by Jeremy Robert Johnson Wounds: Six...

March 2019 Rundown &...

The More2Read March 2019 Reviews & Interviews Thank you to all the publishers and authors for your...

February 2019 Rundown with Bram...

    February 2019 Author Interviews: A Conversation with Grand Master of Noir Lawrence Block On his...

A January 2019 Rundown

    Greetings all. I am back, in writing, on the page, after my previous piece of...

A 2018 review and forward to...

Hello all, this a new one for me in writing this little round up of the year...

Best Nonfiction 2018

GP Review Boxes: No reviews added to this widget yet.

Recent Posts