February 2019 Rundown with Bram Stoker Award Nominations | More2Read
 

February 2019 Rundown with Bram Stoker Award Nominations

 

 


February 2019 Author Interviews:







February – Reviews – Must-Reads:



Book & Film News & Cover Reveal:

There will be a new Bosch and Ballard novel to come.

A new Hap and Leonard novel in March forthcoming from author Joe Lansdale.

John Hornor Jacobs has a new one from the Southern Gods world, one he talked about in my interview with him on Writing, and inspirations.  



Joe Hill’s short story Faun from forthcoming Anthology edited by Lawrence Block, At Home in the Dark has had its film rights bought by Netflix.
Jeremy Slater will be the screenwriter also known for Fantastic Four, The Exorcist, and The Lazarus Effect and Michael Sugar will produce with past works of Spotlight, Rendition, and Collateral Beauty. 



Don Winslow’s trilogy The Power of The Dog, The Cartel, and The Border to be adapted to screen. FX Networks purchased the rights to Don Winslow’s acclaimed Cartel Trilogy into a TV series. Watch out for my reviews of all three of these books by mid April.



Donald Ray pollock’s Devil all the Time to be adapted to film with Netflix, I remember in my interview with him he mentioned that he hoped someone gusty enough will take on the movie. The cast will be consisting of Sebastian Stan, Tom Holland, Mia Wasakowska, Robert Pattinson, and Bill Skarsgard.



A cover reveal and guest post by author Robert E. Dunn on the future release of A Killing Secret his  4th novel featuring Katrina (Hurricane) Williams from Lyrical/Kensington. It will be published 8/6/19. Check out the new cover Reveal. This something new and the guest post from an author and hoping to bring another cover reveal for March’s rundown end of month post.

 


Old & New & Moving Forward!

Looking back at reviews many years ago I found one that had not been posted on Goodreads or here and two that had been on Goodreads but not here. As I lay dying by William Faulkner, Blindness by Jose Saramago, and The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I gathered all the covers and have reviews up, two reviews have a fictional approach, that I tried a few years ago, and was enjoyable to use.



As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner was a great read that I had read many times and I listened to on audiobook. When it comes to Faulkner I was set on reading his whole cannon and I will be restarting this quest end of March or April but just need to find the time. I did start with Solider’s Pay his first novel but never made notes or review, when a review of that appears then I maybe starting a book of his a month including four others that were my goals, starting with the first books: Steinbeck’s Pastures of Heaven, The Orchard Keeper by Cormac McCarthy, The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler, and Red Harvest by Dashiell Hammett.
The Road by Cormac McCarthy was another great tale along with his Blood Meridien and Suttree that I have not written up a review and will do so after another re-read.
Five greats, five cannons, keep an eye out for my reviews of them and in starting my journey through their canon along with modern retellings, advance reader copies, new authors, and the whole spectrum of storytelling and truth work too, its going to be a great journey and hope you follow the ride in following weeks and months and onwards.

 

To finish, on a serious note, many writers have passed, and some battling with cancers, daughters of authors passed, sons, brothers, and mothers, I have read their testaments their journeys and struggles, the readers and aspiring writers all connected in this all, we are with you and never give up.
Two passed authors, Jack Ketchum and Tom Piccirilli both taken by cancer.
Jack Ketchum was a great writer and teacher, he taught many to connect to their fears and writing in framework of horror, he connected on a great level with many writers. I had a few classes with him and learnt a lot, many writers learnt and never forget his impact on the whole horror writing, taking horror out of the corners, the creature feature, the things that lurk, to the things that have two feet, a human being.
Tom Piccirilli another very talented author that wrote in framework of mystery, thriller, horror, erotica, and science fiction and won Bram Stoker many times.

In my interview with author Joe Clifford, this brought me back to something that inspired many in youth and older age, including me, a quote from a movie, and a character in a film.

I asked him,

“The themes you write with what are they about?”

and he said,

“Everything I write is a variation on Rocky. You don’t have to have talent or win. You just have to be standing on your feet when that final bell rings. You take your beating, you keep moving forward.”

“Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!” 
– Sylvester Stallone, Rocky Balboa

Never give up!

Never loose hope!

Find the light against the darkness and keep moving forward, whichever art, writing, sports, endurance, dreams, struggle with health issues, and insidious cancers that have no mercy, keep passing the light on, paying forward.

Thanks for reading and take care, hope to return first week of April with a March 2019 rundown.


There is a type of cancer that many may not have heard of, I have learned of this from an Author I know who has it, and I am mentioning it here for some awareness.

There is some information from one website:

What is myasthenia gravis (MG)?

Myasthenia gravis (pronounced My-as-theen-ee-a Grav-us) comes from the Greek and Latin words meaning “grave muscular weakness.” The most common form of MG is a chronic autoimmune neuromuscular disorder that is characterized by fluctuating weakness of the voluntary muscle groups. To learn more click here.http://myasthenia.org


Jack Ketchum Bram Stoker Wins:
Best Short Story (1994)  The Box
Best Short Fiction (2000) Gone
Best Collection (2003) – Peaceable Kingdom
Best Long Fiction (2003) – Closing Time
World Horror Convention Grand Master Award (2011)

Georges Seguin (Okki) [CC BY-SA 3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

(November 10, 1946 – January 24, 2018)

https://www.goodreads.com


Tom Piccirilli Bram Stoker Wins:
Best Poetry Collection (2000) : A Student of Hell, 
Short Fiction (2002) : “The Misfit Child Grows Fat on Depair”
Best Novel: (2003) : The Night Class
Best Alternative Forms (2004): The Devil’s Wine

(May 27, 1965 – July 11, 2015)

https://www.goodreads.com


Bram Stoker Awards 

Bram Stoker nominations have been selected by the Horror Writers Association (H.W.A), congratulations to the authors. A few of them I have read, reviewed, and made by best of 2018 list , and some I will read in March/April 2019.
The Bram Stoker Awards brought me back to two interviews with Joe Lansdale and Robert McCammon, where I asked them about Horror writers Association, HWA, and the setting up of it.

StokerCon 2019 | http://stokercon2019.org/


Superior Achievement in a Novel


The Hunger by Alma Katsu  (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)  Review | Author Interview 

The Cabin at the End of the World by Paul Tremblay  (William Morrow)  Review | Author Interview 

Glimpse by Jonathan Maberry  (St. Martin’s Press) 

Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman  (Del Rey)

Dracul by Dcare Stoker, and J.D Barker  (G.P. Putnam’s Sons) 



Superior Achievement in a First Novel


Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage  (St. Martin’s Press) Review 

The Rust Maidens by Kiste Gwendolyn  (Trepidatio Publishing) 

What Should Be Wild by Julia Fine  (Harper) 

I Am the River by T.E Grau  (Lethe Press)

The Moore House by Tony Tremblay (Twisted Publishing)



Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel


Broken Lands By Jonathan Maberry  (Simon & Schuster)  Review | Interview 

Dread Nation by Justina Ireland  (Balzer + Bray) 

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand  (Katherine Tegen Books) 

The Night Weaver by Monique Snyman  (Gigi Publishing) 

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by White Kiersten  (Delacorte Press) 


 


Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel


Abbott by Saladin Ahmed  (BOOM! Studios) 

Moonshine Vol. 2: Misery Train by Brian Azzarello and Eduardo Risso  (Image Comics) 

Bone Parish by Cullen Bunn (BOOM! Studios) 

Victor LaValle’s Destroyer by Victor LaValle  (BOOM! Studios) 

Monstress Volume 3: Haven by Marjorie Liu  (Image Comics) 



Superior Achievement in Long Fiction


You Are Released by Joe Hill (Flight or Fright: 17 Turbulent Tales) (Scribner) Review 

“A Winter’s Tale” by John F.D Taff (Little Black Spots) (Grey Matter Press) Review | Interview 

Our Children, Our Teachers by Michael Bailey (Written Backwards)

Dead Lovers on Each Blade, Hung by Usman T. Malik (Nightmare Magazine Issue #74)

The Devil’s Throat by Rena Mason (Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror) (Adrenaline Press)

Bitter Suites by Angela Yuriko Smith (CreateSpace)



Superior Achievement in Short Fiction


“Mutter” By Jess Landry (Fantastic Tales of Terror) (Crystal Lake Publishing)

“Dead End Town” by Lee Murray (Cthulhu Deep Down Under Volume 2) (IFWG Publishing International)? 

“Glove Box” by Annie Neugebauer (The Dark City Crime & Mystery Magazine Volume 3, Issue 4-July 2018)?

“And in Her Eyes the City Drowned” by Kyla Lee Ward (Weirdbook #39) (Wildside Press)



Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection


Coyote Songs by Gabino Iglesias (Broken River Books) Review

Spectral Evidence by Gemma Files (Trepidatio Publishing) 

That Which Grows Wild by Eric J. Guignard (Cemetery Dance Publications) 

Garden of Eldritch Delights by Lucy A. Snyder (Raw Dog Screaming Press) 

Dark and Distant Voices: A Story Collection by Tim Waggoner (Nightscape Press)



Superior Achievement in a Screenplay


Hereditary by Ari Aster (PalmStar Media)

The Haunting of Hill House: The Bent-Neck Lady, Episode 01:05 by Meredith Averill
(Amblin Television, FlanaganFilm, Paramount Television)

Annihilation by Alex Garland
(DNA Films, Paramount Pictures, Scott Rudin Productions, Skydance Media)

Bird Box by Eric Heisserer (Bluegrass Films, Chris Morgan Productions, Universal Pictures)

A Quiet Place by John Krasinski, and Scott, Beck, Bryan, Woods
(Platinum Dunes, Sunday Night)

Check out my page with all the great trailers for these.



Superior Achievement in an Anthology


A New York State of Fright: Horror Stories from the Empire State  by Robert Matserston and April, Grey, James, Chambers
(Hippocampus Press)

The Devil and the Deep: Horror Stories of the Sea by Ellen Datlow  (Night Shade Books)

A World of Horror by Eric J. Guignard (Dark Moon Books) 

Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror by Lee Murray (Adrenaline Press) 

Lost Highways: Dark Fictions from the Road by Alexander D. Ward (Crystal Lake Publishing)



Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction


Horror Express by John Connolly (PS Publishing) 

The Howling: Studies in the Horror Film by Lee Gambin (Centipede Press)

We Don’t Go Back: A Watcher’s Guide to Folk Horror by Howard David Ingham (Room 207 Press)

It’s Alive: Bringing Your Nightmares to Life by Joe and Johnson Mynhardt  (Crystal Lake Publishing) 

Uncovering Stranger Things: Essays on Eighties Nostalgia, Cynicism and Innocence in the Series by Kevin J. Wetmore Jr (McFarland).



Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection


Artifacts by Bruce Boston (Independent Legions Publishing) 

Bleeding Saffron by David E. Cowen (Weasel Press) 

Witches by Donna Lynch (Raw Dog Screaming Press) 

War: Dark Poems by Alessandro Manzetti, and Marge Simon (Crystal Lake Publishing) 

The Devil’s Dreamland by Sara Tantlinger (Strangehouse Books)



 

Reviewed by Lou Pendergrast on 11 March 2019