Our Rating
Your Rating

Like Part of the Family by Jonathan Maberry

To buy visit http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/78728
Meet Sam Hunter. Ex-cop, low-rent private investigator working the back-streets of Philadelphia. Sam has issues—personal and psychological—but he’s good at what he does. When a beautiful blond from the Main Line hires him to protect her from her gangster ex-husband, Sam thinks it’s going to be a by-the-numbers gig. He’s wrong. David Skye is far more than a criminal –he’s an actual monster. Everyone is afraid of him. They should be. Everyone…except Sam, who brings a whole new kind of ‘mean’ to the mean streets. Things are about to get messy. Like Part of the Family is the first short story in a new series by New York Times bestseller and multiple Bram Stoker award-winning author Jonathan Maberry (Patient Zero, Dead of Night). Fans of Jim Butcher and Laurell K. Hamilton will enjoy the first bloody adventure of a new kind of hero from the darkest side of town.

MY REVIEW

Pound for pound the boxer Sugar Ray Robinson was a champion across weight divisions his skill and class was unmatched. In writing you could say there are pound for pound or should I say Genre for Genre writers that hit home runs and pack a punch with stories across different genres. Writers such as Richard Matheson, Ray Bradbury, Stephen King, Dan Simmons and I must say also with Jonathan Maberry. He is writing top notch novels with the likes of The Pine Deep trilogy, The Joe ledger Series and Benny Imura series and now we have a short story of the Urban Fantasy genre.
Sam Hunter is a Private Investigator, his new client wants him to take the heat off from and ex-husband who’s making death threats. This ex-husband has been said to have charisma and owns a groovy bat-like urban club down town. Sam pays him a visit to see what pedigree of heat he is dealing with and oh boy does Sam discover a whole new class of jackass. Sam is a P.I that has all the hallmarks of a character built to last and is going to take the investigation scene by storm. He has an extra edge a surprise weapon of defence that should help him through the rough and a charisma to deal with the smooth. This is story presents a taster of the man Sam Hunter and will leave you with a thirst for more of his stories. Maberry’s writing was sharp and packed a solid punch with a couple of surprises. Short and one not to miss. I am waiting eagerly for a novel length story with Sam the P.I as the main protagonist.

Reviewed by Lou Pendergrast on 05 August 2011

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.