Book Review: Like Part of the Family by Jonathan Maberry | More2Read
 

Like Part of the Family by Jonathan Maberry

To buy visit http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/78728
Meet Sam Hunter. Ex-cop, low-rent private investigator working the back-streets of Philadelphia. Sam has issues—personal and psychological—but he’s good at what he does. When a beautiful blond from the Main Line hires him to protect her from her gangster ex-husband, Sam thinks it’s going to be a by-the-numbers gig. He’s wrong. David Skye is far more than a criminal –he’s an actual monster. Everyone is afraid of him. They should be. Everyone…except Sam, who brings a whole new kind of ‘mean’ to the mean streets. Things are about to get messy. Like Part of the Family is the first short story in a new series by New York Times bestseller and multiple Bram Stoker award-winning author Jonathan Maberry (Patient Zero, Dead of Night). Fans of Jim Butcher and Laurell K. Hamilton will enjoy the first bloody adventure of a new kind of hero from the darkest side of town.


REVIEW:

Sam Hunter is a Private Investigator, his new client wants him to take the heat off from and ex-husband who’s making death threats. This ex-husband has been said to have charisma and owns a groovy bat-like urban club down town. Sam pays him a visit to see what pedigree of heat he is dealing with and oh boy does Sam discover a whole new class of jackass. Sam is a P.I that has all the hallmarks of a character built to last and is going to take the investigation scene by storm. He has an extra edge a surprise weapon of defence that should help him through the rough and a charisma to deal with the smooth. This story presents a taster of the man Sam Hunter and will leave you with a thirst for more of his stories. Maberry’s writing was sharp and packed a solid punch with a couple of surprises. Short and one not to miss. I am waiting eagerly for a novel length story with Sam the P.I as the main protagonist.

Reviewed by Lou Pendergrast on 05 August 2011

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.